Our Fave Five – October

As the end of the month creeps closer, Halloween celebrations begin (I hate Halloween) but more importantly the UK will revert to Greenwich Mean Time with the clocks going back one hour. All sleep deprived parents will gain a precious extra hour in bed but this marks the official end of British summertime. Boo.

October was a super busy month in the household and the repercussions have landed us staring November square in the face. Suppose this is part of the joy with having a 6 month old baby!? Casting my mind back I’ve listed our top 5 for the month:  

Beach Visits 

11

Living in Norwich, we are never more than 30 miles from some stretch of golden sand. Growing up in Lowestoft I consider myself a bit of a beach bum and have fond memories of long summers chilling on the beach, it’s kinda a home from home. October saw us taking advantage of the late Indian summer sun with unexpected beach trips. Feeling the sand between your toes is a great sensation, even our little Hux seemed to enjoy it, but now the bucket and spade are packed away for another year. *sad face*

Hopefully this doesn’t mark the end and we’ll endure a blustery winter walk along the promenade for a fix of fresh sea air.

Stokke Tripp Trapp

IMG_0750.PNG

As our little bubs has now started weaning, we needed a high chair to facilitate. Who knew this would be a task in itself!? Although expensive initially the Stokke TT is a chair that will grow with Huxley and be usable for the foreseeable future. It has a classic Scandinavian design and in my opinion is a thing of beauty, plus it doesn’t look like a high chair at all. I couldn’t recommend it more and my favourite purchase of the month.

 Hands up if you love Stokke Tripp Trapp? We sure do.

Turtle Dove

My favourite independent clothing label of the month.

IMG_0803.JPG

Organic fabrics and gender neutral, the clothes have a monochrome theme with a pop of colour. Made to be worn throughout the year, the clean lines and graphic pattern repeat is the way to my heart. Very stylish and trendy, Huxley is always being complimented when dressed in their threads.

Adnams Mosaic Pale Ale

IMG_0749.PNG

As the sun takes his hat off for the year, a nice cold beer starts to lose its appeal in favour for a rich red wine (the switch has officially happened). Locally brewed in Southwold with a shop conveniently just down the road this has been my favourite tipple not just for October, but all summer months. A dry ale with hints of peach, mango and lemon flavours. Perfect I hear you say. I’m sure I’ll be picking this up again next year as BBQ smells start to waft through the air, that or the ‘Ease Up’ IPA (also by Adnams).

Narcos

A Netflix series on the life of Pablo Escobar and the infamous Medellín drug cartel. We were a little bit late to the party on this but after just finishing the first series are eager to begin the second. A gritty drama that starts in the early days of the drugs war, continuing to a bloody violent battle between Colombia, Mexico and the US. Be warned this is a heavily sub-tilted series, not an easy watch at times and full concentration is a must. Best Netflix series I’ve seen to date.

***

4 thoughts on “Our Fave Five – October

  1. We are right on the coast too, only about 5 miles from the beach. But it is cold and miserable 90% of the time so not somewhere we tend to go other than to walk the dog! I loved that highchair but couldn’t justify the cost. We ended up with a really similar one in style, but it is ugly plastic – boo! #ourfavefive

    Like

  2. My husband loves that Adnams ale. And I love that baby gro – how adorable! I am so jealous of you living so close to a beach – though I lived in Norwich when I was at uni and only went a handful of times, I should have gone more! Thanks for sharing your month with #OurFaveFive x

    Like

  3. Ahh how is the weaning going so far? I love the Stokke Tripp Trapp – wish I had one for my boys when they were babies.

    Thank you so much for linking up to #OurFaveFive and I hope to see you back for November’s x

    Like

Leave a Reply

