Travelling with a Toddler…

Help! Or Aidez-moi! This is a plea for some words of encouragement and if needs be a little pep talk.

I’m genuinely scared, apprehensive and to be honest shitting myself about taking a toddler on a plane for the first time.

Before Hux came along I was that person: ‘I wish that baby would shut the fuck up’; ‘How inconsiderate to bring a baby on a 9 hour flight’; ‘Surely there is some kind of law against babies on a plane?’ & ‘Are the parents actually doing anything to stop this racket?’

Things have turned 180 and now I get it. You want a lovely summer holiday but the only means is to endure travel by aeroplane. Nosiey, Crampt, ear popping air transport. If the last 3 definitions weren’t enough to strike fear into your soul then the idea of packing for a toddler on holiday should.

Looking on the bright side (if there is one), we have a 1hr 30 mins flight from Stansted to France. I bet some of you reading this are laughing in my face – 90mins! Try keeping a toddler entertained for 5+ hours. Well, it’s not the fact that we can’t keep him entertained that has me most stressed, but the sitting still on one of mine of the OH’s laps (We are cheapskates and didn’t want to pay for an extra seat). For a child who has now mastering walking, sitting down for more than 5 minutes is a struggle. Serious ant’s in your pants talk; I have visions of him running up and down the aisle like a mad man screaming at anyone and everyone. Just because.

I’ve been doing my research and so far come up with this short list of essentials that should be invaluable: Snacks and plenty of them. A new book. Stickers. The cbeebies app on my tablet and lastly a dummy. Am I missing anything?

With just under 2 months to go, you can see my anxiousness by posting this blog so early. Hopefully I wont be starting a fight with anyone who throws shade my way as they see me embark the flight, toddler underarm. I pray that Hux is an angel for the duration and takes all the new noises and feelings in his stride. And lastly, I hope that there is some mix up with seat and I get to sit the other end of the plane. JOKE. Wish me luck!

Holla at me with details on your first flight with a toddler. Am I right to feel panicked? Any tips that will help numb the pain apart from 5 beers in the departure lounge?

Crudely translated, as the french say: On se retrouve de l’autre côté

 

6 thoughts on “Travelling with a Toddler…

  1. I honestly don’t think the little short flight will be too bad.

    Try not to go onto the plane anxious or your little one will sense it.

    Distraction, Distraction, Distraction is the only tip I can offer.

    Hope it goes smoothly for you.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. The first time my husband and I took our girls on an aeroplane, they were 18 months old and they were so good! I think the new surroundings distracted them, so much so that we didn’t need the huge amounts of snacks, sticker books and toys that I’d packed! Our girls have since flown every year since then. Thanks for linking up to #ThatFridayLinky

    Liked by 1 person

  3. We took the twins when they were 18 months old and it was a two hour flight and they were great stay calm is all I can suggest Thanks for linking to the #THAT FRIDAY LINKY come back next week please

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

